Sunday Run Day

Week 1 of marathon training is complete!

(only 16 more weeks to go!)  😉

Saturday started with a solid 5 mile run, early in the morning.  My 5 mile runs are always along the same route, this one was no different.  Ended up with 5.12 miles at at pace of 9:04/mile.

Sunday’s run was beautiful!  The kids were going to their grandparent’s house for breakfast.  Of course, when my husband and I get a chance for a “date,” we go running!  And what a lovely run it was!

 2

Seriously beautiful, right?!

For this round of marathon training, I am most excited about the fact that I’ve talked my husband into running the marathon with me!  This will be his first, and I know he is going to rock it!  I think the hardest part about training for my first marathon was that I did it all by myself.  The long runs, while it was nice to have that quiet time, got pretty boring.  I think it would have been so much fun to have someone to run them with!  Perhaps, the Grandparents would like to have a regularly scheduled Sunday brunch with the kids for all our long runs..?!  😉

3

Anyways, it was a great long run.  we went 9.1 miles at a 9:48/mile pace.  And I had the very rare opportunity of having someone there to take a picture of me!  Here’s to one of the few posts that has an actual picture that’s not a selfie!

1

I even kind of look like a runner!  🙂

We brought along a thermos of coffee, so after drinking about a gallon of water each, we sat on a blanket and had some coffee and enjoyed what was left of our quiet morning.   I’m pretty sure my Sunday morning couldn’t have gone any better!

6

How was your weekend?  Did you get your long run in?

Okay,  now onto my plan for week 2!

Monday:  Cross

Tuesday:  3 miles

Wednesday:  5 miles

Thursday:  3 miles

Friday:  Rest

Saturday:  5 miles

Sunday:  6 miles

Hope this is the beginning of a fabulous week for you all!!

5 thoughts on “Sunday Run Day

  1. Hi Karen,

    My name is Lisa and I write the blog theimportanceofbeingstrong.wordpress.com and I am currently creating a series where I ask strong and healthy women about what healthy means to them and about their training etc in the hope of inspiring other women and changing the way they see themselves. I really want women to be confident in their bodies and try to show them that there is a lot more to health and fitness than the crash celebrity bikini diets they see all around them on covers of magazines.

    I really admire the amount of running you do and since I signed up for my first two half marathons earlier this year I have been going back to your instagram regularly just to get some motivation and this is why I would love for you to answer some questions for my blog so that other women will be able to find inspiration in you.

    Is there an e-mail I could contact you on?

    Good luck with your marathon training!!

    Lisa x

  2. Wow that is a gorgeous place to run and I love that pic…you definitely look like a runner because you ARE one! 🙂 That sounds like a beautiful way to spend a Sunday!

  3. LOVE that running path! So beautiful! And you know what else is beautiful?! The idea of Sunday Brunch at the Grandparents! Genius 🙂 You should totally rope them into that. It could be your Mother’s Day/ birthday present, haha. Great running pic! And you ARE a runner missy!

Leave a Reply

