Ice Cream for Dinner, A Mountain and 10 Miles Revisited

This is the last week before the kids go back to school!   It’s bittersweet…  While I’m quite giddy over the fact that I’ll have time to myself, and I’ll actually be able to get off the treadmill a bit, and hit the road to run, I’m going to miss these loud, messy, little people.  So, in preparation for a new school year, we’ve been busy fitting in all things Summer that we can this week.  (Ice cream for dinner?  Sure!  All day at the pool?  Of course!)

Which is why, here it is Tuesday, and I’m only just getting to my weekend running recap.

IMG_8170

Saturday’s run was an easy 4 miles.   I ran into a friend at the 2nd mile, and we chatted while we ran for the second half.  Everyone’s been so busy this Summer, it was nice to catch up!

Saturday night my husband and I got into a discussion about what route we running for our long run.  The in-laws were having the kids over for Sunday breakfast, so once again we had the opportunity to run together.   I suggested we try a 10 mile loop we had ran once about 2 years ago.  Oh, it was a terrible run!  Up until that point, I had only ever ran 6 miles (on a treadmill with lots of walk breaks).  I thought that first time running a 10-miler was going to kill me.  I walked a huge portion of it, and we finished well over 2 hours.  But it was awesome!!  I mean, I had gone for a 10 mile run!  It was a huge motivation to keep on going, because I had done something I never thought I could.

Fast forward to this past weekend, and we were running that route again.  Seems after a couple of years, I had forgotten just how steep the uphills and downhills were.  We pretty much ran up and over a mountain.

IMG_8196

Now I know why it took us two years to run this route again…  🙂

Actually, it wasn’t all that bad.  It was a little challenging, but it was a good run!  The views at the top were beautiful, and we even saw some deer run in front of us.  This was one of those times that I wish I still carried my phone with me instead of a GPS watch to track my runs.  It would have made for some pretty pictures…

Overall,  it was great to see how far I’ve come from struggling through this 10 miles, to running through it and finishing strong!

8

(See that mountain behind me?  I ran up and over it!) 

It looks like Zach and I will be able to continue running our long Sunday runs together, so I think I’m probably going to be changing my training plan to match his.  Zach uses the training plan that comes with the Nike plus app.  Has anyone tried this?  Did you like it?

Happy Running!

One thought on “Ice Cream for Dinner, A Mountain and 10 Miles Revisited

Leave a Reply

